[Translator’s notes appear in square brackets.]

[Personal information has been redacted.]

[The excerpt below is from the section of the article that pertains to the Baha’i Faith]


[Adapted from website:] HRANA - Human Rights Activists News Agency

[Date:] 30 Ordibehesht 1393 [20 May 2014]


Ruling of 78 Years of Imprisonment For 20 Baha’i Citizens

According to HRANA reporters, the Iranian Human Rights Activists News Agency, on 10 Mordad 1390 [1 August 2014], the agents of the Ministry of Intelligence raided the homes of a number of Baha’i citizens in the cities of Yazd, Isfahan, Kerman, and Arak and arrested 17 people. Two weeks later, three more Baha’is were arrested in Yazd.

After about a month, all the detainees were released from prison on a total of 1,200,000,000 tomans bail.

After about a year, the sentence was handed down in Branch 1 of the Revolutionary Court of Yazd, and these 20 Baha’is were sentenced to a total of 78 years of prison, 58 years of which is imprisonment under Tazir[1] law.

The above ruling was approved on 27 Farvardin [17 April] of this year in the provincial court of appeal. An informed source, who did not want to be named, told HRANA, “Agents treated the Baha’i citizens very brutally and rudely when they raided their houses.”

In another part of his interview, he said, “Unfortunately, when the verdict of the [court of] appeal ruling was announced to the prisoners, it was rude, while their only crime is that they took care of the internal affairs of their co-religionists.”

The names of these 20 Baha’i citizens and the extent of their convictions are as follows:

Saba Golshan, five years in prison under Tazir law and one-year suspension of sentence

Shahram Eshraghi, Shahram Fallah, Navid Haghighi, Iman Rashidi, and Khosrow Dehghani, each sentenced to four years in prison under Tazir law and one year’s suspension

Fariborz Baghi, Nategh Naimi, Fariba Ashtari, Shabnam Mottahed, and Vida Haghighi each sentenced to three years in prison under Tazir law and one year of suspension

Farahnaz Misaghian, Farah Baghi, Azam Motahhari, Mehran Eslami, Sohrab Naghipour, Azar Pourkhorsand, Naghmeh Farabi, Taher Rouhani, and Sasan Haghiri each sentenced to two years in prison under Tazir law and a one-year suspension.


[1] [Tazir (discretionary punishment):  Punishment with maximum and minimum limits determined by law and judge, respectively]