[Translator’s notes appear in square brackets]

[Personal information has been redacted.]



Islamic Republic of Iran

Ministry of Science, Research and Technology

In the Name of God

Date: [illegible]-[illegible] 1385 [2006/2007]

Number: [illegible]

[Illegible] 2/3/9375/M




The esteemed management of the Security Office, [The 81 universities addressed in this letter are listed below.]


  1. University of Arak
  2. Urmia University
  3. University of Isfahan
  4. Islam University
  5. Alzahra University
  6. Bu Ali Sina University
  7. University of Birjand
  8. Imam Khomeini International University
  9.  Payam-e Noor University
  10. University of Tabriz
  11. Tarbiat Modares [Lecturer Training] University
  12. Tarbiat Moalem [Teacher Training] University of Tehran
  13. Tarbiat Moalem [Teacher Training] University of Azerbaijan
  14. Tarbiat Moalem [Teacher Training] University of Sabzevar
  15. University of Tehran
  16. Persian Gulf University
  17. Razi University
  18. Zabol University
  19. University of Zanjan
  20.  Semnan University
  21. University of Sistan and Baluchestan
  22. University of Shahrekord
  23. Shahed University
  24. Shahid Bahonar University of Kerman
  25. Shahid Beheshti University
  26. Shahid Chamran University of Ahvaz
  27. Shiraz University
  28. Isfahan University of Technology
  29. Amirkabir University of Technology
  30. Shahroud University of Technology
  31. Khajeh Nassir-Al-Deen Toosi University of Technology
  32. Sahand University of Technology of Tabriz
  33. Sharif  University of Technology
  34. Allameh Tabataba’i University
  35. Iran University of Science and Technology
  36. Gorgan University of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  37. Ferdowsi University of Mashhad
  38. University of Kashan
  39. University of Kurdistan
  40. University of Gilan
  41. Lorestan University
  42. University of Mohaghegh Ardabili
  43. University of Mazandaran
  44. Shahid Rajaee Teacher Training University
  45. Vali Asr University of Rafsanjan
  46. Hormozgan University
  47. University of Art
  48. University of Applied Science and Technology
  49. Yazd University
  50. Damghan University of Basic Sciences
  51. Yasuj University
  52. Art University of Isfahan
  53. Khorramshahr University of Marine Sciences and Technology
  54. University of Qom
  55. Malayer University
  56. Shomal University
  57. University of Science and Culture
  58. Ershad University of Damavand
  59. Khatam University
  60. Tafresh  University
  61. Bojnourd University
  62. Golpayegan School of Engineering
  63. School of Economic Affairs
  64. Non-profit Khayyam Institute
  65. Non-governmental and non-profit Sadjad Institute, Mashhad
  66. Non-governmental and non-profit Shahid Ashrafi Esfahani Institute
  67. Non-governmental and non-profit Allameh Mohaddes Nouri Institute
  68. Non-governmental and non-profit Institute of Tabarestan
  69. Non-profit Institute for Development and Rural Advancement of Hamadan
  70. Maritime and Marine Science Centre of Higher Education of Chahbahar
  71. Institute of Higher Education of Maragheh
  72. University of Islamic Denominations
  73. Jondi shapour Institute of Higher Education of Dezful
  74. Shiraz University of Technology
  75. Sadjad Institute of Higher Education, Mashhad
  76. Mofid University of  Qom
  77. Ramin University of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  78. Kar [occupation] Higher Education Institute
  79. Najafabad Institute of Higher Education
  80. Iran Industrial Research of Higher Education Institute
  81. Imam Khomeini Research Center


Subject: Banning of the education of Bahá’ís in universities


Respectfully, we inform you that in accordance with decree number 1337/M/S, dated 6 Esfand 1369 [25 February 1991], issued by the Supreme Revolutionary Cultural Council and the notification of the responsible authorities of the Intelligence [Office], if Bahá’í individuals, at the time of enrolment at university or in the course of their studies, are identified as Bahá’ís, they must be expelled from university. Therefore, it is necessary to take measures to prevent the further studies of the aforementioned [individuals] and forward a follow-up report to this Office.

Asghar Zareie

Director General of the Central Security Office [Signature]