[Translator’s notes appear in square brackets.]

[Personal information has been redacted.]

[The excerpt below is from the section of the article that pertains to the Baha’i Faith]


[Newspaper:] Neday-e Hagh

[Date:] 1 Bahman 1337 [21 January 1959]

[Issue No.:] 418


The Minorities!

Iran’s National Constitution has clearly defined the minorities of our country—Christian, Jewish and Zoroastrian. These are the three lawful minorities of Iran, and no other minority is recognized; if anyone creates another minority, he is talking nonsense.

The three above-mentioned minorities are also under the protection and respect of the Islamic government until such time as they [no longer] harm Islam and the Muslims; if they take any action against the religion of Islam and the Muslims, in addition to losing their respect, the responsibility for losing their [own] lives would be theirs.